Soul Island Vol. 1

Release date: 11 October 2010
Label: Soul Island
Distributor: Rhythm Method
Also available on i-Tunes &

Dub Terminator and High Freequency proudly present Soul Island Vol. 1 – a selection of the freshest Jah heavy roots and dubstep recorded for their new label, Soul Island.

Initially available as a digital promo release in mid 2010, due to a huge amount of downloads and interest, in October 2010 the album will be released in-store throughout Aotearoa.

Soul Island creates tunes with the aim of bringing a new, conscious sound to the people, blending the unique styles and cultures brought together by their varied artists and projects.

Dub Terminator is New Zealand-based producer Chris McLay, who is widely known for his unique blend of mashed up reggae, dub, dance hall and hip-hop. Producing and remixing tracks for Jamaican MCs from abroad over the past year, Dub Terminator worked with some of the innovators of the music scene including John Holt, Yellow Man, Sizzla, Jim Nastic aka Jim Brown, Rhombus and Rodney P, Reality Chant and Natty King, as well as an army of newly recruited Jamaican MCs from Jamaica and Europe.

Touring New Zealand with Rhombus both as a guest MC and also showcasing the Dub Terminator sound-system set, he mashes up tunes direct from the studio to the stage, enabling him to bring live electronic bass-weight straight to the dance, pure and heavy.

In 2009, Dub Terminator met Spanish producer, High Freequency (Jacobo Miquel) and began creating remixes for his vocal dubplate recordings with a host of well-established Jamaican artists. As their work progressed, the Soul Island label was created.

After continued success with their remixes, the duo took things a step further and began sending fresh riddims to other vocalists around the globe, with Dub Terminator producing the riddims and High Freequency linking and booking artists and studios for the tracks to be recorded in. Over the next few months tracks from artists from Jamaica to Canada, UK to Africa flooded in and Soul Island Vol. 1 was born.

A follow-up release, Babylon Dubstep Annihilation, is also now available for free download, bringing a futuristic urbanized Soul Island flavour.

Track listing:
1. Give It Up – Mello G
2. Let It Blaze – Melloquence & Tidal
3. Bed Of Rose – Senita Mogul
4. Real Ting – I Dadda & CJ
5. Global Warming – Jim Nastic aka Jim Brown
6. Equal Rights – Chappa Jan
7. Representing To The Fullest
8. Jealous – Senita Mogul
9. Rough – I Dadda & CJ
10. Man Like Me – Senita Mogul
11. Rise Above It – Peppery
12. Don’t You Be Afraid – Prince Jacobo
13. Soul Dub
14. Spread The Love – Dub Terminator
15. Five Fingerz riddim

More info:

Dub Terminator Facebook page