Snypa Levi

Snypa Levi was born in the city of San Jose, California U.S.A. and upon hearing ‘Exodus’ by Bob Marley and the Wailers at age fourteen, his destiny was sealed. His love for reggae was cultivated throughout his teens through the local abundance of reggae both live and on the radio and also through his contact with the West Indian community.

At age 22, Snypa made the pilgrimage to Jamaica, and in 1988 he immigrated to New Zealand, eventually settling in Auckland. He became a member of the Twelve Tribes of Israel and with other Twelve Tribes members he formed the band, Vision Africa, performing at venues and outdoor festivals in and around the city. In 1992 he relocated back to the U.S. for a period, where he continued his musical journey, developing skills and working with artists on an international level.

In 1995 his love for New Zealand brought him back to the country. He continued to record tracks and started his own band. In March 2001, he joined Christchurch based crew, Dubwize, performing as Papa Levi. At the end of 2002 Dubwize released their debut album, To The Control Tower, and 12 months later released Reality Chant, with Papa Levi as chief vocalist.

Following the release of ‘Reality Chant’, Dubwize and Snypa have performed at all major New Zealand festivals and extensively throughout the country and Australia, supported many international artists while also producing videos and their latest release, Snypa Levi – The Sojourner.

The Welly massive can catch Snypa at the San Fran Bathhouse on Friday 19 September at the ‘Country Living Riddim Release Party’, a night celebrating the stunning new roots riddim from Reality Chant Productions, featuring Snypa, alongside some of Jamaica’s premier vocalists.

Big up to Snypa for his Top Ten track selections for September 2008.

1. Richie Spice/Chuck Fenda – Freedom

2. Gyptian – Serious Times

3. General Degree – Almighty God

4. Jah Cure/ Jah Mason – Run Come Love Me

5. Capleton – Mashing Up The Earth

6. Sizzla Kalonji – Just One Of Those Days

7. Turbulence – Sun Will Come Out

8. Jah Mason – Stick Nor Stone

9. Morgan Heritage – Works To Do

10. Freddy McGregor – Wine Of Violence