Newtown Rocksteady

Newtown Rocksteady are a Wellington based 12-piece band formed in 2007, who are set to release their debut EP this month.

Playing regular shows in Wellington and recently touring the South Island, Newtown Rocksteady currently hold a residency at Wellington’s Southern Cross Bar (the last Friday of every month). They also recently performed at the packed out annual Botanical Garden’s outdoor concert summer series.

This months Top Ten is a list of favourites by the band’s main song writer and drummer, Andy Hoy. Andy recorded and also mixed the band’s EP which is being released on Sat 28 May 2011 at Happy Bar in Wellington. Andy, like many of the other members of Newtown Rocksteady is a busy musician and performer with various roles in other local band projects.

More info:
Newtown Rocksteady Facebook

Nuff respect to Newtown Rocksteady for their NiceUp Top Ten tunes for May 2011 (listed in chronological order).

1. The Maytals – Its You

2. Byron Lee – Rocksteady

3. The Enforcers – Musical Fever

4. Ovetakers – Girl U Ruff

5. Ernest Ranglin – Pop A Top

6. Jackie Mittoo – Black Organ

7. Yabby You – Conquering Dub

8. Glen Brown & King Tubby – Away With The Bad

9. Dennis Bovell – None Jah Jah Children (Melodica Version)

10. Bongo Gene All Stars – Skyjack Version