L Que

L Que been playing jungle music for around ten years, dubstep since 2006, and is a long-time reggae and dub man.

He began his career in music in 1999 while DJing at RDU 98.5FM in Christchurch, shortly after completing a sound engineering course in Auckland. He went on to link up with fellow Christchurch foundation selector, Red i, and they started a specialist radio show playing dancehall, hip-hop, jungle and drum n bass.

In 2003 L Que relocated to Sydney where he continued to be involved in radio and also worked with the reggae collective Free Dem Sounds. From here he went to London on a vinyl buying mission for around six months and became absorbed by jungle and dub culture before he returned home to Christchurch.

L Que then started Bass Factory nights with Gooba and the Woolston Posse which showcased a blend of sound system music – dub, dubstep, dancehall and jungle. He has been a pioneering figure in the NZ dubstep scene and he put together the first NZ dubstep mix-CD with J Red, ‘The is not the Christchurch Sound: Dubstep Edition’ which was released by RDU. In 2006 L Que took over the running of the Metrobeatz show on RDU which broadcasts every Friday night from 9 to 11pm.

L Que now promotes the Run It Red jungle sessions and will soon be kicking off a regular reggae night in Christchurch. He has also been concentrating on his own productions which are all built on a foundation of dub, hip-hop and jungle and which he makes using analog studio equipment. He plays original productions and specials off acetate dubplates that are cut at Transition Studios in London.

Big up to L Que for his Top Ten Tunes for January 2011.

1. Unknown Artist – Jah Love – White Label

2. Mala – Livin’ Different – DMZ

3. L Que & Dreadknowledge – Jah Disciples – RSD remix – Dubplate

4. Messenjah & L Que – Hi Kee dub – Dubplate

5. Coki – Intergalactic – DMZ

6. Unkown Artists – No General – White Label

7. Kaps – Nobody Can Touch You Now – Dubplate

8. Sandeeno – Dust Another Sound – Sip A Cup

9. Mala – Explorer – Monkey Town

10. Jah Warrior & Peter Broggs – Jah Voice – L Que Refix – Dubplate